My Next Step

When I first moved to LA 7 months ago my partner and I had little to nothing, one income, and some optimism. I wrote about my conquest thru the desert and gave you some survival tips. Then I told you about my master “Free Craigslist” plan and how to make the most of it. Well, for the last several months there was even more figure out.  There always is, right? I was having trouble finding steady income in this town. In LA you had better  know someone who can get you a career oriented job. Other jobs like serving make decent money here because they pay at least minimum wage unlike states like Florida who don’t pay full minimum wage. Their excuse is, you get tipped but as you know not everyone tips and you aren’t always working at Olive Garden. Here, employers take full responsibility in making sure their workers get paid decently but I knew didn’t want to serve again. I had been a server on and off again most of my life. Never again I said…

So what happened…I caved and ended up getting a serving job at a staffing company bouncing around from charity events to weddings. There’s a lot of staffing companies for events here. The company I got hired with paid the most it seemed, $15/hour, but my checks were consistently late and the events are utter chaos for staff. Usually more than one staffing company gets hired for an event which means multiple bosses. Chain of command is often argued over between managers and any mistakes made because of eight different people telling you what to do is your fault. Even though this was all frustrating to say the least I stuck with it for a while and tired to give 100%. My boss noticed and sent me constant praises along with still late paychecks. I took charge on my own and often ended up directing others but gigs were few and far in between. So I took to Craigslist again.

Next I got a gig working as a personal aide. I learned a lot from that job and was thankful for the experience even though it was short lived. Unfortunately, I still needed more consistency. “What about my job?” said Christina.  “I think it would be perfect for you.” We fantasized about me working there but months seemed to pass by with no window of opportunity, until finally I got a call asking me to fill in for another PA who was going to be out for a week. The people and job were wonderful and as my last day approached I started to get depressed that opportunity was just teasing me. More months passed after my one week of work and I was starting to think no other gig would become available in time. We were struggling and I needed decent income. Finally they called and asked me to start back on a few month project this time. Lucky me, I’m currently still on that project and am hoping to keep getting rehired. Right now I don’t plan on having a career in Post Production but if there ‘s anything the whole experience of moving here has taught me is that opportunity is everywhere, be open-minded, and don’t be afraid to make mistakes.

Leave a Reply

